Chicken Gyoza

20140219-150545.jpg

This is my first attempt to cook gyoza. Since my husband and I are on a low fat diet and we are staying away from pork, I substituted minced pork with minced chicken breast. My son loves to eat gyoza very much and for some reason, he likes calling them pizza dumplings. It’s a good thing that he doesn’t mind that it’s chicken instead of pork.

I found a useful tool in Saizen that helped me with preparing the dumplings. It also comes with a cute little spatula. It saved me a lot of time! You can buy extras so kids can also join in and help.

20140219-150640.jpg

For mincing the chicken breast, I used my little meat mincer. It minces any types of meat like beef, pork, or poultry. Instead of buying minced meat from the supermarket or wet market, I like doing mine at home.

20140219-150735.jpg

What you need for the filling:
- 1 whole chicken breast, minced
- 1 cup pechay, minced (use the leafy part)
- 1/2 tsp ginger, grated
- 1/4 cup green onion, chopped
- 3 tsp minced garlic
- 1/4 tsp sugar
- 1/4 tsp salt

For cooking:
- sesame oil
- 1/4 cup water

20140219-150837.jpg

Prepare all the ingredients and mix them all together. Using the dumpling maker tool, fill each wrapper with the filling, damp the edges with a little water, and clamp together. Voila! – perfectly made dumplings!

20140219-151602.jpg

Heat the pan with some sesame oil and place the dumplings with flat side down. Wait for the bottom to be nice and brown. Then add the water to the pan. Lower the heat and cover the pan. Let it simmer and steam until the skin are translucent.

For the gyoza sauce, you can just buy it from the grocery store. I bought mine from the Japanese section in Landmark. Although, I must say, it’s quite expensive. I think next time, I’ll just make my own. It tastes great though, perfect for the gyoza and steamed dumplings!

20140219-151701.jpg

Honestly, my first attempt was good but it could be better. Improvements needed! I think that if the dumpling wrapper was not store bought and it was made from scratch, it would definitely taste better. Secondly, the filling being chicken and not pork made a lot of difference. I still prefer pork dumplings but this will do. At least, this will satisfy my gyoza cravings from time to time.

In the afternoon, I even made some variations – steamed and air fried. The steamed dumplings were not bad. Sadly to say, the air fried ones did not turn out well but still edible! My husband ate them all. Hahaha!

20140219-151808.jpg

Check out this site for the more detailed recipe – Steamy Kitchen. This is where I based my recipe on. I just made some changes to it.

Enjoy making the dumplings!

2 thoughts on “Chicken Gyoza

Leave a Reply

