Iced Turmeric Ginger Tea



Turmeric a.k.a yellow ginger has lots of healthy benefits. I googled and found the following articles if you’re interested to know more about it:

http://m.huffpost.com/us/entry/5978482

http://www.acupuncturebrooklyn.com/herbs/turmeric-sweet-turmeric

http://authoritynutrition.com/top-10-evidence-based-health-benefits-of-turmeric/

From my last trip to our family doctor, he also encouraged me to try it. And so last weekend, my dad bought me a bag of turmeric from S&R. 

I have never seen turmeric before and when I saw the bag that my dad bought, I thought they were just ordinary ginger but actually they are quite different. Turmeric looks like small ginger roots and the inside is dark orange. It has a very strong color because from slicing them, my fingers quickly turned yellowish and they are very hard to remove. The color will probably come off after several more washes. It is not very spicy like ginger but has a unique aromatic smell. 



In my recipe, I also used Sambong Tea which is also recommended by our family doctor. My husband is a heavy coffee drinker and our doctor suggested that instead of drinking coffee all day, he should try drinking Sambong Tea or Banaba Tea. They are both herbal teas and they are caffeine free. 

Here’s the recipe for an iced cold drink that is both healthy and thirst-quenching. 

What you need: 

– 8 pieces of turmeric, washed and thinly sliced

– 12 slices of ginger

– 2 cups of water

– 2 Sambong Tea bags

– 4 tbsp honey 

– 2 tbsp fresh calamansi juice

Boil 2 cups of water together with the turmeric and ginger slices for 10 minutes. Turn off the heat. Steep the tea bags for 5 minutes. Add the calamansi juice and honey. Mix well. You may also add sugar for extra sweetness if you like. This recipe makes 2 cups. 

Enjoy! 

4 thoughts on “Iced Turmeric Ginger Tea

Leave a Reply

