Homemade Vanilla Bean Ice Cream



This is the second time I made homemade ice cream without an ice cream maker. Previously, I made one with heavy cream and condensed milk but with all that fat, eating it made me feel guilty despite it being very delicious. This time, I found another recipe that is said to be lower in fat content and made with just a few simple ingredients. 

To make this, you need to devote quite a lot of time and patience (of waiting). The end result is something milky with real vanilla flavor and it’s yummy! Texture wise, my ice cream was smooth and kind of soft because it did not freeze up quite well even if it has been in the freezer overnight. I am not sure if it is because I did not add Xanthan gum or what. I can’t find one in the baking store so I just omitted it. It says in the recipe that it’s optional anyway. It melts quite easily after you scoop it so be sure to eat it right away or you’ll have a vanilla milkshake on your hand. Good thing my husband loves melted ice cream! Hahaha! 

What you need:

– 1 can cold evaporated milk 

– 1 vanilla bean or 2 tsp vanilla extract

– 1/2 cup white sugar 

– 1/8 tsp Xanthan gum (optional)

I used Carnation Evap for the evaporated milk. I used a vanilla bean but added another teaspoon of vanilla extract to make sure I get a strong vanilla flavor. For the sugar, I lessened it to just 1/2 cup instead of 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons as per the recipe instructed because I don’t like my ice cream to be very sweet. 

Using a stand mixer or hand mixer, whip the cold evaporated milk. Scrape the vanilla bean and add in the seeds and 1 extra teaspoon of vanilla extract. Gradually add in the sugar. If you want a better ice cream texture, add 1/8 teaspoon of Xanthan gum powder. (I have yet to try this.)

When the mixture has doubled in volume, place the bowl in the freezer for one and half hour.  Take it out and beat it with a mixer until smooth and put in the freezer again for another one and half hour. Continue doing this two more times with one and a half hour intervals. Doing this will prevent crystallization so you will get a smooth ice cream texture. Transfer to a container and freeze it completely. To serve, add some fresh fruits or nuts.



Recipe adapted from Eugenie Kitchen.

Enjoy! 

Leave a Reply

